A Beached White Male (Disrupted Book Review)

Disrupted by Dan Lions

Disrupted is a memoir and it tells the tale of Daniel Lyons, a “beached white male” after being fired from Newsweek. He begins to work at HubSpot, a company that tells small businesses how to send what they call, “loving marketing content” or known to us as spam. He soon comes to realize that HubSpot is a horrible company with managers that will fire you based on a cost for your replacement. They also instill a ridiculous culture code and the heads of departments take your ideas and then get your bonus. Lyons eventually lands a job as a writer on HBO’s Silicon Valley (a great show I might add).

 

I would highly recommend this book to anybody who enjoys tech world related books and biographies

One thought on “A Beached White Male (Disrupted Book Review)”

  1. Wow beck, I really liked your book review. I think it was really descriptive, and really made me want to read the book. Perhaps you can check out my blog? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *